The Trip - OST  (2015 Vinyl Reissue) LP

The Trip - OST (2015 Vinyl Reissue) LP

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Vinyl LP pressing including flyer insert and digital download. Legendary director Roger Corman, known for his "B" films for the American International Pictures, had filmed The Trip about an LSD trip. The filming was done during a 17 day period beginning in mid-March 1967 and ending in early April in and around Sunset Strip in Los Angeles and starred Peter Fonda, Susan Strasberg, Bruce Dern, Salli Sachse and Dennie Hopper. Gram Parson's International Submarine Band was originally suggested to record the soundtrack but Corman did not feel that Parson's group's music fit the movie. Peter Fonda suggested Mike Bloomfield's band, Electric Flag, which did not yet have a name. The recording was done over a ten day period for Sidewalk Records, owned by Mike Curb, which had distribution through Capitol Records. The movie was released in August and the soundtrack was released a short time later. It was a landmark album that broke barriers. It featured a mixed racial group that played a unique blend of Blues, Rock, Classical and Avant-garde music-the first Rock band to have horns (ahead of Chicago and Blood, Sweat and Tears) and the first to feature a Moog synthesizer. Since the band did not have a name at the time, the group was credited as The American Music Band.

  • 1 Peter's Trip
  • 2 Joint Passing
  • 3 Psyche Soap
  • 4 M-23
  • 5 Synesthesia
  • 6 A Little Head
  • 7 Hobbit
  • 8 Inner Pocket
  • 9 Fewghh
  • 10 Green and Gold
  • 11 The Other Ed Norton
  • 12 Flash, Bam, Pow
  • 13 Home Room
  • 14 Peter Gets Off
  • 15 Practice Music
  • 16 Fine Jung Thing
  • 17 Senior Citizen
  • 18 Gettin' Hard
  • LABEL: Curb Records
  • UPC: 715187928916
  • GENRE: Psychedelic Rock
  • RELEASE DATE: 7/10/2015
  • PRODUCT ID: CRB79289.1
  • WEIGHT: .51 lb